Skip to content
Polyhedral DiceDnD dice sets, towers, trays and giftsAll guides

Gifts and toolsBuying guide

Dice Advent Calendars: DnD Calendars and What Is Inside Each One

What dice advent calendars from Chessex, Dice Envy, Fanroll and Q-Workshop contain, how many doors they have, and when to order before they sell out.

Opaque, translucent and sparkly roleplaying dice sorted in the compartments of a box
Photo: Tomi Tapio K from Helsinki, Finland / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. Listings and prices come from our partners and change often. How we make money.

Key facts

Chessex 2026 Holiday Calendar
25 openings: 6 full dice sets, specialty dice and 3 display cases
Dice Envy 2026 calendar
24 days, over 30 dice; every style listed as sold out by September 29, 2026
Fanroll D&D Red Robes & Winter Woes
Dice, a tray and a bag; in stores from October 15, 2026
Q-Workshop 2025 calendar
24 windows: 23 dice and a metal pin; labeled 14+

A dice advent calendar hides dice behind 24 or 25 doors, usually a mix of full sets, single dice and a few extras like a bag or tray. Chessex’s 2026 calendar has 25 openings with six full sets. Dice Envy’s 2026 edition lists over 30 dice. Fanroll makes D&D-licensed calendars. Popular editions sell out early, sometimes by September.

What is inside a dice advent calendar?

Each maker packs its calendar differently. Some focus on complete sets you can play with. Others mix in single novelty dice. Here is what each maker’s own page lists, with the edition year stated.

Calendar Edition Doors What the maker lists inside
Chessex Holiday Calendar 2026 25 Three standard 7-die sets, one standard 8-die set, two mini-hedral 7-die sets, a heavy mega-hedral die, a secret die, three 16mm d6s, three crystal display cases
Dice Envy Advent Calendar 2026 24 Over 30 dice, full sets and single dice, small and large, in metal, wood and polymer; Nice and Naughty versions
Fanroll Holiday Advent Dice Calendar (Santa) 2026 25 Polar bear and Santa inclusion dice, red and green mini dice, holiday metal dice and other surprises
Fanroll D&D Red Robes & Winter Woes 2026 Not stated Inclusion dice, a dice tray, a dice bag, and a d20 with a Demilich inclusion on the last day (per ICv2)
Fanroll D&D Frostmaiden’s Aurora Year not stated 12 A dice tray, a D&D inclusion dice set, a mini dice set, a mega d20 and a dice bag
Q-Workshop Advent Dice Calendar 6 2025 24 15 random Q-Workshop dice, 8 holiday dice, 1 metal pin

Contents change between years, so check the edition before you buy.

Who makes D&D advent calendars?

Chessex

Chessex lists a 2026 Holiday Calendar as a 6.5 inch cube with 25 openings for December. It is the most set-heavy calendar here: six complete sets, counting the two mini-hedral sets. The mega-hedral and mini-hedral dice are also a way into oversized and tiny dice; our unusual dice guide covers more odd sizes and shapes. Chessex also lists a four-pack of the same calendar.

Dice Envy

Dice Envy’s 2026 calendar runs 24 days and holds “over 30 exclusive TTRPG dice,” including full sets and single dice. It comes in two art styles: Nice, with forest elves, and Naughty, with goblins. Dice Envy says anything ordered with the calendar ships with it in the fall.

Fanroll

Fanroll makes both unlicensed seasonal calendars and D&D-branded ones. Its 2026 Holiday Advent Dice Calendar has 25 days and a polar bear and Santa theme. For D&D fans, Fanroll lists Frostmaiden’s Aurora, a 12-day calendar it says was made in partnership with D&D. ICv2 reported on July 15, 2026, that Fanroll’s D&D Advent Calendar: Red Robes & Winter Woes is inspired by the Arcana Unleashed: Deadfall adventure. Fanroll also sells a 31-day Halloween calendar for October.

Q-Workshop

Q-Workshop’s most recent documented edition is Advent Dice Calendar 6 from 2025. It has 24 windows with 23 dice in total and a metal pin, in a box with a gingerbread family design. Q-Workshop lists it for ages 14 and up. We found no 2026 edition on Q-Workshop’s site as of September 29, 2026.

Dice advent calendars in stock

Shop the range

Browse current dice advent calendars on eBay, new condition only.

Shop dice advent calendars

Opens eBay in a new tab. Check condition, seller feedback and returns on the listing.

How to choose a dice advent calendar

Full sets or single dice?

A calendar of full sets gives the recipient dice they can play with on day one of a new campaign. A standard D&D set has seven dice; our guide to what dice you need for D&D explains each one. Calendars heavy on single dice suit collectors who enjoy variety more than matching sets.

Count the complete sets in the maker’s list. Chessex states them exactly. Dice Envy says its calendar mixes full sets and single dice without giving a split.

Material

Most calendars mix materials. Dice Envy lists metal, wood and polymer dice. Fanroll includes metal dice and inclusion dice (resin with objects set inside). Chessex lists its standard, mini and mega dice by size rather than material.

Licensed or not?

Licensed calendars carry D&D branding and themed dice, such as Fanroll’s Demilich d20. Unlicensed calendars from dice makers tend to focus on the dice themselves. Both work with any tabletop roleplaying game, since the dice are standard.

Extras

Look at what else is inside. A tray, bag or display case adds value if the recipient does not own one. Fanroll’s D&D calendars include a tray and a bag; Chessex includes three display cases.

When should you buy a dice advent calendar?

Earlier than you might think. On September 29, 2026, Dice Envy’s pre-order page listed every 2026 style as sold out. Fanroll listed two D&D Halloween calendars as sold out the same day.

Release and shipping windows the makers state:

  • Fanroll D&D Red Robes & Winter Woes: in stores from October 15, 2026, according to ICv2.
  • Dice Envy 2026: ships in the fall; other items in the same order wait for it.
  • Chessex 2026: listed as a pre-order, with no ship date on the product page.

Tip

If the calendar you want has sold out, a single holiday dice set wrapped with a small bag makes a similar gift. Our D&D gift guide has more ideas sorted by recipient.

Are dice advent calendars safe for children?

Dice are small parts. The CPSC bans children’s products with small parts intended for children under 3, because they present a choking, aspiration or ingestion hazard. The CPSC also requires certain children’s products that contain small parts to carry warning labels about the ages they are not meant for.

Dice calendars are sold for players, not toddlers. Q-Workshop labels its 2025 calendar 14+. If a calendar is meant for an older child, check its age label and keep opened doors away from younger siblings.

A note on trademarks

Dungeons & Dragons and D&D are trademarks of Wizards of the Coast. Licensed calendars are named here for description only. This site is not affiliated with or endorsed by Wizards of the Coast, Hasbro, Fanroll or any other maker named on this page.

For the dice themselves, start with our DnD dice sets guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is in a dice advent calendar?

Usually a mix of full dice sets, single dice and a few extras such as a dice bag, tray or display case. The 2026 Chessex Holiday Calendar, for example, lists 25 openings holding six full sets, specialty dice and three crystal display cases.

Is there an official D&D advent calendar?

Fanroll sells D&D-branded dice calendars made in partnership with D&D. ICv2 reported that Fanroll's D&D Advent Calendar: Red Robes & Winter Woes would reach stores on October 15, 2026, with inclusion dice, a dice tray and a dice bag.

When do dice advent calendars sell out?

Some sell out months before December. Dice Envy's 2026 pre-order page showed every style as sold out on September 29, 2026, and two of Fanroll's D&D Halloween calendars were also listed as sold out that day.

How many days are in a dice advent calendar?

The Christmas dice calendars on this page have 24 or 25 doors. Fanroll also makes a 12-day D&D calendar and a 31-day Halloween calendar.

Are dice advent calendars OK for kids?

Not for young children. Dice are small parts, and the CPSC bans small parts in products intended for children under 3. Q-Workshop labels its 2025 calendar for ages 14 and up.

Sources

  1. 2026 Chessex Holiday Calendar (One cube)Chessex
  2. Advent Calendar Pre-Order 2026Dice Envy
  3. Holiday Advent Dice Calendar - SantaFanroll
  4. Dungeons & Dragons Frostmaiden's AuroraFanroll
  5. Dice Goblin Halloween Advent Calendar - WerewolfFanroll
  6. Fanroll Dice shop (advent calendar listings and stock status)Fanroll
  7. Fanroll Reveals Two Holiday Dice ProductsICv2
  8. Advent Dice Calendar 6Q-Workshop
  9. Small Parts for Toys and Children's ProductsU.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

More on the gifts and tools shelfStart here: DnD Dice Sets

All guides